Dan Klefstad http://northernpublicradio.org en Beer And Politics Really Do Mix http://northernpublicradio.org/post/beer-and-politics-really-do-mix <p></p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 11:35:43 +0000 Dan Klefstad 49354 at http://northernpublicradio.org Beer And Politics Really Do Mix No Spoiler: Frances Kills, Then Chats With God About It http://northernpublicradio.org/post/no-spoiler-frances-kills-then-chats-god-about-it <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>"This is the story of a retired high school Latin teacher who murders her son-in-law."</p><p>That's what <a href="http://www.roberthellenga.com/" target="_blank">Robert Hellenga</a> wanted on the cover of his latest novel, <em>The Confessions of Frances Godwin</em>.</p><p>"I felt it was necessary to give some oomph to the story," Hellenga explains. "Otherwise, the memoir of a retired Latin teacher doesn't sound too exciting."</p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 11:40:03 +0000 Dan Klefstad 49510 at http://northernpublicradio.org No Spoiler: Frances Kills, Then Chats With God About It Award Winning Memoir "Maps" Author's Journey http://northernpublicradio.org/post/award-winning-memoir-maps-authors-journey <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>In less than a week, <a href="http://barriejeanborich.com/" target="_blank">Barrie Jean Borich</a> won two big awards this spring for her latest book, <em>Body Geographic</em>.</p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:31:51 +0000 Dan Klefstad 49088 at http://northernpublicradio.org Award Winning Memoir "Maps" Author's Journey Tim Emmons Memorial Center To Be Dedicated http://northernpublicradio.org/post/tim-emmons-memorial-center-be-dedicated <p></p><p>Northern Public Radio will dedicate the Emmons Memorial Visitor Center in memory of Tim Emmons this Thursday, June 19, at 5:30 p.m.</p><p>Northern Illinois University President, Doug Baker, will speak at the dedication. Other speakers will include Vice President of Outreach, Engagement and Regional Development, Anne Kaplan, and Northern Public Radio Director and General Manager, Staci Hoste.</p><p>A tour of the station will follow at 6:15 p.m.</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 15:00:13 +0000 Dan Klefstad 49263 at http://northernpublicradio.org Tim Emmons Memorial Center To Be Dedicated DeKalb Author Waxes Poetic In Prose http://northernpublicradio.org/post/dekalb-author-waxes-poetic-prose <p></p><p></p><p><a href="http://beta.losthorsepress.org/catalog/loose-talk/" target="_blank">Joseph Gastiger</a> writes prose poems, a hybrid form that reads like fiction but uses poetic imagery. He prefers writing this type for two reasons.</p><p>"I found it made certain stories in my life more available," he says, "rather than break whatever it was I was trying to say into lines."</p><p>In an interview with WNIJ, Gastiger said the form allowed his sentences to flow more easily, and led to more surprises. The other reason:</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 11:40:31 +0000 Dan Klefstad 48757 at http://northernpublicradio.org DeKalb Author Waxes Poetic In Prose Rockford Native Mines His Past For First Book http://northernpublicradio.org/post/rockford-native-mines-his-past-first-book <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p><a href="http://garyswritestuff.wordpress.com/" target="_blank">Gary Lawrence</a> is a Rockford native who uses familiar sights and people in his fiction. In B<em>affled and Other Stories</em>, Lawrence takes us to the "On the Waterfront" and "Summerfest" music festivals.</p><p>One of his characters works for an aerospace firm named "Sundstrom" (a nod to his former employer Sundstrand). And two stories are set in Rockford's West High School, now West Middle School, during the early 1970s.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 11:44:34 +0000 Dan Klefstad 47872 at http://northernpublicradio.org Rockford Native Mines His Past For First Book 2nd Big Award For Summer Book Series Author http://northernpublicradio.org/post/2nd-big-award-summer-book-series-author <p></p><p>First an IPPY, now a LAMMY.</p><p><a href="http://barriejeanborich.com/" target="_blank">Barrie Jean Borich</a> was honored last night in New York City at the 26th annual Lambda Book Awards for her creative memoir,<em> Body Geographic</em>.</p><p>Borich's book is featured in WNIJ's <a href="http://northernpublicradio.org/post/meet-summer-book-series-authors" target="_blank">Summer Book Series</a>, which airs Friday mornings this month.</p><p>Of last night's award, Borich tells WNIJ:</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 14:12:28 +0000 Dan Klefstad 48479 at http://northernpublicradio.org 2nd Big Award For Summer Book Series Author O'Hare, Midway Flights Grounded By Smoke http://northernpublicradio.org/post/ohare-midway-flights-grounded-smoke <div dir="ltr"><p>Incoming and outgoing flights at Chicago's airports were halted today after smoke emerged from a regional radar facility.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 13 May 2014 17:46:24 +0000 Dan Klefstad 47434 at http://northernpublicradio.org O'Hare, Midway Flights Grounded By Smoke Summer Book Series Author to Accept Top Award http://northernpublicradio.org/post/summer-book-series-author-accept-top-award <p></p><p></p><p>(Updated May 26)</p><p></p><p>This week, one of our Summer Book Series authors will accept a gold medal for her latest work, a creative memoir. Barrie Jean Borich will be honored Wednesday by the Independent Publisher Book Awards, or <a href="http://www.independentpublisher.com/article.php?page=1791" target="_blank">IPPY</a>s, for <em>Body Geographic</em>. The book is the third installment of WNIJ's series which airs next month.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 07 May 2014 16:45:29 +0000 Dan Klefstad 46682 at http://northernpublicradio.org Summer Book Series Author to Accept Top Award Series Reveals The Secret Life Of A Food Stamp http://northernpublicradio.org/post/series-reveals-secret-life-food-stamp <p>Marketplace and Slate continue their series <em>The Secret Life of a Food Stamp</em> by asking: What if Wal-Mart paid its employees more?</p><p>Slate's Andrew Bouve produced a <a href="http://www.marketplace.org/topics/wealth-poverty/secret-life-food-stamp/video-what-if-wal-mart-paid-its-employees-more" target="_blank">video</a> which estimates how much more Wal-Mart might have to charge for some products, if it raised wages high enough so that a typical worker would no longer qualify for food stamps.</p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 19:57:41 +0000 Dan Klefstad 45412 at http://northernpublicradio.org Series Reveals The Secret Life Of A Food Stamp