Bob Pritchard http://northernpublicradio.org en Quinn Makes Minor Changes To State Budget http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-makes-minor-changes-state-budget <p></p><p>Illinois will have a budget in place when the state's new fiscal year begins Tuesday. The governor signed it into law Monday. He left much of the plan approved by Democratic legislators intact, with a couple of exceptions meant to play well with voters. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:07:44 +0000 Amanda Vinicky & Mike Moen 49902 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Makes Minor Changes To State Budget Bill Targets Illinois Charter School Commission http://northernpublicradio.org/post/bill-targets-illinois-charter-school-commission <p></p><p>Two northern Illinois lawmakers want to&nbsp;strip powers from&nbsp;a commission that deals with charter schools. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 12:17:18 +0000 Mike Moen 40378 at http://northernpublicradio.org Bill Targets Illinois Charter School Commission Illinois GOP Proposes Plan To Reduce College Costs http://northernpublicradio.org/post/illinois-gop-proposes-plan-reduce-college-costs <p></p><p>Illinois House Republicans are pushing a proposal that aims to reduce higher education costs for middle-class students. Mon, 01 Jul 2013 11:22:18 +0000 Mike Moen 32268 at http://northernpublicradio.org Illinois GOP Proposes Plan To Reduce College Costs Sorting Out The Impact Of The Gay Marriage Rulings http://northernpublicradio.org/post/sorting-out-impact-gay-marriage-rulings <p></p><p></p><p>Supporters of same-sex marriage in Illinois say Wednesday’s Supreme Court rulings bolster their cause. But the court’s action doesn’t appear to be an immediate impact on the state. Thu, 27 Jun 2013 11:19:00 +0000 Mike Moen & Dan Klefstad 32096 at http://northernpublicradio.org Sorting Out The Impact Of The Gay Marriage Rulings Pension Overhaul Remains Up In The Air http://northernpublicradio.org/post/pension-overhaul-remains-air <p><font size="5">A proposed overhaul cleared a House committee Monday. But the full House adjourned for the day without taking action. Observers say legislative leaders are trying to round up of enough votes for the bill to pass. Tue, 08 Jan 2013 13:06:07 +0000 Mike Moen 23720 at http://northernpublicradio.org Pension Overhaul Remains Up In The Air Reaction To NIU President's Planned Exit http://northernpublicradio.org/post/reaction-niu-presidents-planned-exit <p></p><p>Northern Illinois University’s long-time president is stepping down at the end of the academic year. John Peters made the announcement at his annual State of the University address Thursday.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 12 Oct 2012 15:10:51 +0000 Susan Stephens 19742 at http://northernpublicradio.org Reaction To NIU President's Planned Exit