Andrew Rifkin http://northernpublicradio.org en Phillips Named New NIU Police Chief http://northernpublicradio.org/post/phillips-named-new-niu-police-chief <p>There have been several new faces around campus this year, including a new president, athletic director, and now police chief.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 15:32:20 +0000 Jenna Dooley 35269 at http://northernpublicradio.org Phillips Named New NIU Police Chief NIU Pays Out 200K In Paid Leave Costs http://northernpublicradio.org/post/niu-pays-out-200k-paid-leave-costs <p>Police Chief Don Grady continued to draw a salary after he was placed on leave in November.&nbsp; His salary at the time was around $205,987.92. Grady and another officer were accused of withholding evidence in a sexual assault case. The charges for that case were initially dropped, <a href="http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2013-02-22/news/chi-former-niu-cop-reindicted-on-rape-charges-20130222_1_andrew-rifkin-sexual-assault-niu-student" target="_blank">but have been re-filed.</a></p><p></p><p> Thu, 28 Feb 2013 11:28:56 +0000 Jenna Dooley 26149 at http://northernpublicradio.org NIU Pays Out 200K In Paid Leave Costs Former Officer Sues NIU Board and Grady http://northernpublicradio.org/post/former-officer-sues-niu-board-and-grady <p>A former campus police officer is suing the NIU Board of Trustees and Police Chief Don Grady. Andrew Rifkin filed the lawsuit Jan. 22 in DeKalb County. Rifkin was charged in 2011 with sexually assaulting a student. Those charges were later dropped.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 11:15:38 +0000 Jenna Dooley 24403 at http://northernpublicradio.org Former Officer Sues NIU Board and Grady Grady Asked IT Specialist to Remove Files from Laptop http://northernpublicradio.org/post/grady-asked-it-specialist-remove-files-laptop <p>NIU police chief Donald Grady had an information technology specialist remove "personal files" from his laptop the day before he was placed on administrative leave, according to reports of court testimony this week. Thu, 29 Nov 2012 13:22:05 +0000 WNIJ 22028 at http://northernpublicradio.org Grady Asked IT Specialist to Remove Files from Laptop Sexual Assault Charges Dropped Against NIU Officer http://northernpublicradio.org/post/sexual-assault-charges-dropped-against-niu-officer <p>Sexual assault charges against a former NIU police officer have been dropped. Prosecutors announced yesterday they were dropping the charges against Andrew Rifkin. The announcement comes three weeks after DeKalb County Judge Robbin Stuckert said NIU police had purposefully hidden from prosecutors witness statements that could have aided Rifkin’s defense. Wed, 28 Nov 2012 10:23:03 +0000 WNIJ 21953 at http://northernpublicradio.org Sexual Assault Charges Dropped Against NIU Officer NIU Police Defend One Of Their Own http://northernpublicradio.org/post/niu-police-defend-one-their-own <p></p><p>A DeKalb County judge could decide today whether to proceed with a student’s sexual assault case against a former Northern Illinois University police officer.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 09 Nov 2012 04:02:39 +0000 Susan Stephens 21098 at http://northernpublicradio.org DeKalb County's Prosecutor Wants NIU Police Investigated http://northernpublicradio.org/post/dekalb-countys-prosecutor-wants-niu-police-investigated <p></p><p>DeKalb County’s State’s Attorney is calling for an investigation of Northern Illinois University’s police department. Clay Campbell has asked the State Police to look into the actions of NIU’s Police Chief Donald Grady and his department in regard to a sexual assault case involving an officer last year.</p><p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 08:05:42 +0000 Susan Stephens 20888 at http://northernpublicradio.org DeKalb County's Prosecutor Wants NIU Police Investigated