Arts http://northernpublicradio.org en A Surge Of Scarlatti Sonatas http://northernpublicradio.org/post/surge-scarlatti-sonatas Three centuries ago a man named <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/91447657/domenico-scarlatti" target="_blank">Domenico Scarlatti</a> churned out an enormous number of keyboard sonatas — more than 550. Pianists, harpsichordists and even accordionists still can't get enough these inventive, bite-sized pieces.<p>A clutch of Scarlatti albums have appeared this year and more are on the way. Albums from pianists Orion Weiss and Igor Kamez are due in the coming weeks. Here we offer a sampling of five recent releases.<p>Why all the Scarlatti? Thu, 28 Aug 2014 16:08:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 52915 at http://northernpublicradio.org A Surge Of Scarlatti Sonatas Bruce Hornsby's Modern Classical Moment http://northernpublicradio.org/post/bruce-hornsbys-modern-classical-moment <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15396710/bruce-hornsby" target="_blank">Bruce Hornsby</a> cracked the music world three decades ago, making smooth, contemplative piano-pop with his band The Range. But if "<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cOeKidp-iWo" target="_blank">The Way It Is</a>" is how you remember him today, you've missed a lot. Sat, 23 Aug 2014 21:14:00 +0000 NPR Staff 52695 at http://northernpublicradio.org Bruce Hornsby's Modern Classical Moment A Perfectly Cromulent Classical Guide To 'The Simpsons' Marathon http://northernpublicradio.org/post/perfectly-cromulent-classical-guide-simpsons-marathon <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fG3VoX52nmk</p> Thu, 21 Aug 2014 11:21:00 +0000 Mark Mobley 52570 at http://northernpublicradio.org A Perfectly Cromulent Classical Guide To 'The Simpsons' Marathon Met Opera Tentatively Settles With 2 Major Unions http://northernpublicradio.org/post/met-opera-tentatively-settles-two-major-unions A labor crisis threatening to shut down New York's Metropolitan Opera — the largest opera house in the world — appears to have been averted. Two of the major unions announced a tentative settlement this morning. While agreements with 10 additional unions need to be reached by Tuesday night, this represents a major turning point in a bitter dispute.<p>The Met's labor problems have played out, for the most part, in the press, with acrimonious statements from both management and unions substituting for actual bargaining sessions. Mon, 18 Aug 2014 21:14:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 52434 at http://northernpublicradio.org Met Opera Tentatively Settles With 2 Major Unions Pacifica Quartet: Tiny Desk Concert http://northernpublicradio.org/post/pacifica-quartet-tiny-desk-concert With this Tiny Desk Concert by the Grammy-winning <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/17368104/pacifica-quartet" target="_blank">Pacifica Quartet</a>, we have the opportunity to explore the world of a single composer. Mon, 18 Aug 2014 18:09:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 52413 at http://northernpublicradio.org Pacifica Quartet: Tiny Desk Concert First Listen: Cameron Carpenter, 'If You Could Read My Mind' http://northernpublicradio.org/post/first-listen-cameron-carpenter-if-you-could-read-my-mind <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zq_cy-ztcHc</p> Sun, 17 Aug 2014 03:03:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 52352 at http://northernpublicradio.org First Listen: Cameron Carpenter, 'If You Could Read My Mind' Centenarian Soprano Licia Albanese Dies http://northernpublicradio.org/post/centenarian-soprano-licia-albanese-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZINNVrgXec</p> Sun, 17 Aug 2014 00:11:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 52351 at http://northernpublicradio.org Centenarian Soprano Licia Albanese Dies Soul-Searching Music From A Serene Desert Monastery http://northernpublicradio.org/post/soul-searching-music-serene-desert-monastery Inspiration can come from unlikely places. For composer Robert Kyr, the silence of a desert monastery is key to the radiant music on his new disc of recent choral works performed by the vocal ensemble Conspirare and its director Craig Hella Johnson.<p>Kyr travels frequently to the Monastery of Christ in the Desert, in northern New Mexico, from his home in Eugene, Ore., where he teaches composition at the University of Oregon. Wed, 13 Aug 2014 15:36:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 52172 at http://northernpublicradio.org Soul-Searching Music From A Serene Desert Monastery Read These While They're Still Free http://northernpublicradio.org/post/read-these-while-theyre-still-free Last month, <em>The New Yorker</em> <a href="http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2014/07/28/note-readers" target="_blank">announced</a> that it was teasing a new "freemium" version of its website (which launches this fall) with an alluring proposition. All of its most recent pieces, plus the full archives back to 2007 and some even older selections, are free for the rest of the summer.<p>So we took this opportunity to dig up some delicious classical music-minded pieces from the magazine's archives. Tue, 12 Aug 2014 13:53:34 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 52113 at http://northernpublicradio.org Read These While They're Still Free Drum Fill Friday: Classical Headbanging Edition http://northernpublicradio.org/post/drum-fill-friday-classical-headbanging-edition Sooner or later it had to happen — an all-classical Drum Fill Friday. This week's puzzler proves that the world of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15232481/ludwig-van-beethoven" target="_blank">Beethoven</a>, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15162684/igor-stravinsky" target="_blank">Stravinsky</a> and <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15228868/bela-bartok" target="_blank">Bartók</a> can serve up beats as thunderous as any double drummer metal band.<p>Try to identify the classical pieces that spotlight the timpani (kettledrums), bass and snare drums. Fri, 08 Aug 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Tom Huizenga 51927 at http://northernpublicradio.org Drum Fill Friday: Classical Headbanging Edition