Dixon http://northernpublicradio.org en A New Way Of Cutting Checks At Dixon City Hall http://northernpublicradio.org/post/new-way-cutting-checks-dixon-city-hall <p></p><p>It was two years ago this week when one of the biggest cases of municipal fraud in U.S. history began to unfold. Former Dixon Comptroller Rita Crundwell was arrested for stealing for more than $50 million from the city. Crundwell is now serving time in federal prison.</p><p>In Dixon, city officials continue to implement reforms they hope will prevent similar action in the future. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:11:46 +0000 Mike Moen 46133 at http://northernpublicradio.org A New Way Of Cutting Checks At Dixon City Hall U.S. Marshals Service: $9.2 Million For Dixon http://northernpublicradio.org/post/us-marshals-service-92-million-dixon <p>The U.S. Marshals Service has transferred $9.2 million to the U.S. District Court in the Northern District of Illinois. According to a news release, the money will be applied to the restitution ordered by the court to be paid to the city of Dixon in the <a href="http://www.justice.gov/usao/iln/pr/rockford/2013/pr0214_01.html" target="_blank">Rita Crundwell fraud case.</a></p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 10:17:52 +0000 Jenna Dooley 40712 at http://northernpublicradio.org U.S. Marshals Service: $9.2 Million For Dixon Ex-Dixon Comptroller's 20-Year Sentence Upheld http://northernpublicradio.org/post/ex-dixon-comptrollers-20-year-sentence-upheld <p>Bad news for former Dixon Comptroller Rita Crundwell today: a federal appeals court upheld her nearly 20-year prison sentence.</p><p> Sat, 16 Nov 2013 00:12:59 +0000 Susan Stephens 39155 at http://northernpublicradio.org Ex-Dixon Comptroller's 20-Year Sentence Upheld Ideas Abound For Dixon's $40-Million http://northernpublicradio.org/post/ideas-abound-dixons-40-million <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">About 200 people showed up for a town hall meeting in Dixon last night to hear more about the financial state of their city&hellip;and offer suggestions on how to spend nearly 40-million dollars.</span></p><p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 10:51:50 +0000 Susan Stephens 37450 at http://northernpublicradio.org Ideas Abound For Dixon's $40-Million Dixon: How Would YOU Spend $40-million? http://northernpublicradio.org/post/dixon-how-would-you-spend-40-million <p>The city of Dixon has an unusual problem: how to spend $40 million. Citizens get their say tonight.</p><p> Thu, 10 Oct 2013 09:45:00 +0000 Susan Stephens 37375 at http://northernpublicradio.org Dixon: How Would YOU Spend $40-million? Dixon Takes $40-Million Settlement With Auditors And Bank http://northernpublicradio.org/post/dixon-takes-40-million-settlement-auditors-and-bank <p>Dixon City Council approved a $40-million settlement with auditors and Fifth Third Bank at a special meeting today. The out-of-court settlement was reached on Friday with the companies the city blames for allowing former comptroller Rita Crundwell to embezzle $54-million over twenty years.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 20:12:43 +0000 Susan Stephens 36682 at http://northernpublicradio.org Dixon Takes $40-Million Settlement With Auditors And Bank Dixon Debating New Form Of Government http://northernpublicradio.org/post/dixon-debating-new-form-government <p></p><p>It's been more than a year since the Rita Crundwell scandal rocked the city of Dixon. The former comptroller is serving a federal prison term for embezzling more than $50-million from city coffers. With court proceedings on the back-burner, the community is debating how to move forward with a form of government aimed at restoring public trust. Thu, 05 Sep 2013 11:35:02 +0000 Mike Moen 35669 at http://northernpublicradio.org Dixon Debating New Form Of Government Dixon Council To Address Credit Card Policy http://northernpublicradio.org/post/dixon-council-address-credit-card-policy <p>The Dixon City Council <a href="http://www.discoverdixon.org/index.php?option=com_docman&amp;view=docman&amp;Itemid=421" target="_blank">votes Monday</a> on a credit-card use policy. It comes a month after the resignation of the city's former engineer. He used city-issued credit cards to pay thousands of dollars in personal expenses. He later reimbursed the city for the balance.</p> Mon, 20 May 2013 13:28:44 +0000 WNIJ 30131 at http://northernpublicradio.org Dixon Council To Address Credit Card Policy Government Finishes Sale of Crundwell Assets http://northernpublicradio.org/post/government-finishes-sale-crundwell-assets <div class="card-content"><div class="field field-name-body field-type-text-with-summary field-label-hidden "><div class="field-items"><div class="field-item even"><p><strong><em>U.S. Marshals Service Says Selling Crundwell's Assets Was Not All "Smooth Sailing"</em></strong></p><p>Federal marshals have now liquidated all of the known assets of Rita Crundwell, the former Dixon comptroller who admitted to embezzling nearly $53 million from the city.</p><p>Last week, marshals sold Crundwell’s final three assets, including two vehicles and a trailer. That sale brought in about $36,000.</p> Thu, 16 May 2013 09:50:35 +0000 Jenna Dooley 29894 at http://northernpublicradio.org Government Finishes Sale of Crundwell Assets Dixon Strike Ends After Early Morning Negotiations http://northernpublicradio.org/post/dixon-strike-ends-after-early-morning-negotiations <p>Teachers in Dixon will head back to class. The school board and teacher's union <a href="http://www.dixonschools.org/" target="_blank">reached agreement on a four-year contract</a> early Wednesday morning. Classes will resume Wednesday and students will begin standardized testing by the end of this week.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> Wed, 13 Mar 2013 09:33:38 +0000 Jenna Dooley 26788 at http://northernpublicradio.org Dixon Strike Ends After Early Morning Negotiations