Illinois http://northernpublicradio.org en Quinn Makes Minor Changes To State Budget http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-makes-minor-changes-state-budget <p></p><p>Illinois will have a budget in place when the state's new fiscal year begins Tuesday. The governor signed it into law Monday. He left much of the plan approved by Democratic legislators intact, with a couple of exceptions meant to play well with voters. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:07:44 +0000 Amanda Vinicky & Mike Moen 49902 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Makes Minor Changes To State Budget Hive Talkin': Sticking With Beekeeping As A Hobby http://northernpublicradio.org/post/hive-talkin-sticking-beekeeping-hobby <p> Beekeeping is enjoying a nice comeback in many U.S. states, including Illinois. Renewed interest in the hobby is linked to concerns over declining bee populations. Enthusiasts also say curiosity tends to reel people in.</p><p>No matter the case, those with experience say that, while beekeeping is rewarding, it’s not an activity you can just buzz into. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 12:20:32 +0000 Mike Moen 49879 at http://northernpublicradio.org Hive Talkin': Sticking With Beekeeping As A Hobby Mixed News For Illinois' Jobs Picture http://northernpublicradio.org/post/mixed-news-illinois-jobs-picture <p></p><p>Illinois' jobless rate is now at 7.5 percent. It's the third consecutive monthly decrease. And it's at its lowest level since 2008. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:14:05 +0000 Mike Moen 49389 at http://northernpublicradio.org Mixed News For Illinois' Jobs Picture Heroin's Grip Revisited http://northernpublicradio.org/post/heroins-grip-revisited <p></p><p>Later this week, a legislative panel will meet to finalize a report on addressing heroin use in Illinois. It’s one of two task forces created by the General Assembly to come up with solutions. Their work comes amid concerns about the number of fatal overdoses across the state. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 10:29:41 +0000 Mike Moen 48741 at http://northernpublicradio.org Heroin's Grip Revisited Couples Line Up As Gay Marriage Law Rolls Out http://northernpublicradio.org/post/couples-line-gay-marriage-law-rolls-out <p></p><p>The wait is over for same-sex couples in Illinois to marry. A new state law allowing such marriages went into effect over the weekend. That prompted many couples to line-up at their local county clerk's office on Monday. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 11:30:55 +0000 Mike Moen 48483 at http://northernpublicradio.org Couples Line Up As Gay Marriage Law Rolls Out State Police Issue Numbers On Concealed Carry Requests http://northernpublicradio.org/post/state-police-issue-numbers-concealed-carry-requests <p></p><p>It's been nearly a month since Illinois State Police began sending out concealed-carry permits. Thousands of applicants have been approved. But some have also been denied. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 11:42:33 +0000 Mike Moen 45052 at http://northernpublicradio.org State Police Issue Numbers On Concealed Carry Requests Campaign Against Human Trafficking Grows http://northernpublicradio.org/post/campaign-against-human-trafficking-grows <p>January is human trafficking awareness month. In Illinois, advocates continue to raise awareness in hopes of preventing such activity. Mon, 27 Jan 2014 12:28:04 +0000 Mike Moen 42285 at http://northernpublicradio.org Campaign Against Human Trafficking Grows What Does Slow Population Growth Mean For Illinois? http://northernpublicradio.org/post/what-does-slow-population-growth-mean-illinois <p></p><p>The U.S. Census Bureau says since the last official census in 2010, Illinois has only gained about 52-thousand residents. That puts it in the bottom 10 states when it comes to population change during that time period. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 12:43:15 +0000 Mike Moen 41264 at http://northernpublicradio.org What Does Slow Population Growth Mean For Illinois? No Big Change In Illinois' Population http://northernpublicradio.org/post/no-big-change-illinois-population <p></p><p>The latest U.S. Census figures reveal slow population growth for Illinois. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 13:52:45 +0000 Mike Moen 41218 at http://northernpublicradio.org No Big Change In Illinois' Population Converting Civil Unions Into Gay Marriages http://northernpublicradio.org/post/converting-civil-unions-gay-marriages <p></p><p>The soon-to-be <a href="http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/BillStatus.asp?DocNum=10&amp;GAID=12&amp;DocTypeID=SB&amp;SessionID=85&amp;GA=98">same-sex marriage law</a> in Illinois will not affect civil unions. But gay couples in such a union will have an opportunity to convert their certificate. Fri, 08 Nov 2013 11:26:43 +0000 Mike Moen 38764 at http://northernpublicradio.org Converting Civil Unions Into Gay Marriages