Northern Illinois University http://northernpublicradio.org en The Starting Line For Common Core Training http://northernpublicradio.org/post/starting-line-common-core-training <p></p><p>There's a push across the U.S. to align common core standards in classrooms. The standards, which have been adopted by dozens of states, are defined goals for what students should know and be able to do by the end of each grade.</p><p>But the implementation process doesn't just involve making sure veteran teachers are up to speed. Teaching universities face pressure to prepare tomorrow's educators about what they'll encounter. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 12:12:39 +0000 Mike Moen 49259 at http://northernpublicradio.org The Starting Line For Common Core Training Former NIU President "Enthusiastic" About School's New Leader http://northernpublicradio.org/post/former-niu-president-enthusiastic-about-schools-new-leader <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An important figure in Northern Illinois University’s history is back on campus today to celebrate the school’s future. </span>NIU’s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> tenth president John </span>La Tourette<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> will attend the inauguration of the </span>12<sup>th</sup><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> president, Doug Baker.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 08:54:13 +0000 Susan Stephens 38969 at http://northernpublicradio.org Former NIU President "Enthusiastic" About School's New Leader Woman Jumps From NIU Parking Garage http://northernpublicradio.org/post/woman-jumps-niu-parking-garage <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A young woman fell to her death Friday afternoon at Northern Illinois University. Police say the unidentified woman was in her late teens or early twenties and apparently killed herself by jumping from the campus parking deck .</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The university says the person was not a student, nor was she an NIU employee. </span></p> Fri, 25 Oct 2013 22:06:47 +0000 Susan Stephens 38137 at http://northernpublicradio.org Woman Jumps From NIU Parking Garage NIU's President Baker Shaking The Organizational Tree http://northernpublicradio.org/post/nius-president-baker-shaking-organizational-tree <p style="background-position: initial initial; background-repeat: initial initial;"><span style="font-size: 14pt; font-family: Georgia, serif;">Northern Illinois University&#39;s new president is putting his mark on the school&#39;s organizational charts. President Doug Baker announced a number of leadership changes at the university today.<o:p></o:p></span></p><p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 23:29:37 +0000 Susan Stephens 37491 at http://northernpublicradio.org NIU's President Baker Shaking The Organizational Tree Rainy Day, Sunny Outlook: NIU's Move-In Day http://northernpublicradio.org/post/rainy-day-sunny-outlook-nius-move-day <p>The annual migration of students from all around the country, all around the world, for that matter, to their new home in DeKalb is underway. It's Move-In Day at Northern Illinois University.</p><p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 19:49:22 +0000 Susan Stephens 34992 at http://northernpublicradio.org Rainy Day, Sunny Outlook: NIU's Move-In Day NIU's First Lady Tells Stories Of "Women At Northern" http://northernpublicradio.org/post/nius-first-lady-tells-stories-women-northern <p></p><p>NIU president John Peters isn’t the only one saying goodbye to the university at the end of June…so is his wife, Barbara Cole Peters. &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 13 May 2013 11:10:34 +0000 Susan Stephens 29757 at http://northernpublicradio.org NIU's First Lady Tells Stories Of "Women At Northern" A Send-off For NIU President Peters http://northernpublicradio.org/post/send-niu-president-peters <p></p><p>Northern Illinois University President John Peters still has seven weeks left on the job – but Monday, the campus and community came together to say goodbye.</p><p> Tue, 07 May 2013 10:05:26 +0000 Susan Stephens 29451 at http://northernpublicradio.org A Send-off For NIU President Peters Phones Still Out At NIU & WNIJ http://northernpublicradio.org/post/phones-still-out-niu-wnij <p>If you need to reach someone at Northern Public Radio today, email is still the best way to go! Much of Northern Illinois University's phone system has been down since a lightning strike on campus at 8:30 Wednesday morning.</p><p> Wed, 17 Apr 2013 20:49:49 +0000 Susan Stephens 28516 at http://northernpublicradio.org Phones Still Out At NIU & WNIJ Theft Charges Against Two More NIU Workers Dismissed http://northernpublicradio.org/post/theft-charges-against-two-more-niu-workers-dismissed <p></p><p>Felony theft charges have been thrown out against two more NIU employees.</p><p> Thu, 04 Apr 2013 21:02:32 +0000 Susan Stephens 27881 at http://northernpublicradio.org Theft Charges Against Two More NIU Workers Dismissed Another NIU "Coffee Fund" Case Dropped http://northernpublicradio.org/post/another-niu-coffee-fund-case-dropped <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Charges have been dropped against one of Northern Illinois University’s top financial officials. University controller Keith Jackson was charged last year with two felonies and one misdemeanor related to the so-called “coffee fund” scandal.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 22:59:05 +0000 Susan Stephens 27729 at http://northernpublicradio.org Another NIU "Coffee Fund" Case Dropped