Lisa Madigan http://northernpublicradio.org en Illinois AG Sues Over Alleged Student Loan Debt Scams http://northernpublicradio.org/post/illinois-ag-sues-over-alleged-student-loan-debt-scams <p>Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan is suing two companies for allegedly scamming people with student loan debt.</p><p> Mon, 14 Jul 2014 22:40:21 +0000 WBEZ 50634 at http://northernpublicradio.org Illinois AG Sues Over Alleged Student Loan Debt Scams Lisa Madigan's Ripple Effect http://northernpublicradio.org/post/lisa-madigans-ripple-effect <div style="font-family: Arial; "><p></p><p>Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan's decision to run for re-election will have its biggest effect on the democratic primary for governor. It could also lead to a change in leadership among Republicans in the Illinois House.</p><p></p><p></p><p>State Rep. Tom Cross, a Republican from Oswego who's been House Minority Leader since 2002, says "many" people approached him to consider running for AG when it was thought Madigan was likely to run for governor.</p><p></p> Mon, 22 Jul 2013 09:55:08 +0000 WNIJ 33345 at http://northernpublicradio.org Lisa Madigan's Ripple Effect Lisa Madigan Will Not Run For Governor http://northernpublicradio.org/post/lisa-madigan-will-not-run-governor <p>Lisa Madigan will NOT run for Illinois governor next year. The state’s Attorney General announced today she has been considering a run for governor for months, but decided to stick with her current job.</p><p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 22:26:39 +0000 Susan Stephens & Amanda Vinicky 33019 at http://northernpublicradio.org Lisa Madigan Will Not Run For Governor Legal Questions Raised After Quinn's Budget Veto http://northernpublicradio.org/post/legal-questions-raised-after-quinns-budget-veto <p>Legal questions surround Governor Pat Quinn's move to suspend pay for Illinois lawmakers. On Wednesday, he vetoed that portion of the state budget. Thu, 11 Jul 2013 11:26:58 +0000 WNIJ news 32773 at http://northernpublicradio.org State Gets Another Concealed-Carry Extension http://northernpublicradio.org/post/state-gets-another-concealed-carry-extension <p></p><p>Illinois now has until July 22nd to enact a concealed-carry law. That's after the U.S. Supreme Court granted a request by the state Attorney General to push back the deadline. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 17:41:06 +0000 Mike Moen 31674 at http://northernpublicradio.org State Gets Another Concealed-Carry Extension Court Orders Relief In Marengo Tainted Private Wells http://northernpublicradio.org/post/court-orders-relief-marengo-tainted-private-wells <p></p><p>A company that operates a plant in northern Illinois is being ordered to provide safe drinking water to residents in the Margengo-area. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 12:37:17 +0000 Mike Moen 31658 at http://northernpublicradio.org Court Orders Relief In Marengo Tainted Private Wells Illinois Attorney General Moves To Salvage Concealed Carry Ban http://northernpublicradio.org/post/illinois-attorney-general-moves-salvage-concealed-carry-ban <p></p><p><span style="font-size: 18pt; font-family: Tahoma, sans-serif;">Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan wants the state’s ban on concealed carry to be upheld. She is asking all ten judges on the U.S. 7th Circuit Court of Appeals to review a lawsuit challenging the ban.<o:p></o:p></span></p><p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 23:49:11 +0000 Susan Stephens 23760 at http://northernpublicradio.org Illinois Attorney General Moves To Salvage Concealed Carry Ban Lisa Madigan calls same-sex marriage ban unconstitutional http://northernpublicradio.org/post/lisa-madigan-calls-same-sex-marriage-ban-unconstitutional <p>Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan says the state&#39;s current prohibition against same-sex marriage is unconstitutional.</p><p>The Democrat is throwing her weight behind a pair of lawsuits in Cook County court that are challenging the state&#39;s marriage laws. She says she personally supports gay marriage.</p> Tue, 05 Jun 2012 11:47:14 +0000 Victor Yehling 12827 at http://northernpublicradio.org Lisa Madigan calls same-sex marriage ban unconstitutional