Gov. Pat Quinn http://northernpublicradio.org en Quinn Renews Call For Tighter Gun Laws http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-renews-call-tighter-gun-laws <p></p><p>Illinois lawmakers are being asked to revisit a bill that would impose tighter gun restrictions. On Sunday, Governor Pat Quinn again called for passage of a measure that would ban the sale or delivery of assault weapons and high capacity ammunition. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 11:27:05 +0000 Mike Moen 50584 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Renews Call For Tighter Gun Laws Quinn Makes Minor Changes To State Budget http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-makes-minor-changes-state-budget <p></p><p>Illinois will have a budget in place when the state's new fiscal year begins Tuesday. The governor signed it into law Monday. He left much of the plan approved by Democratic legislators intact, with a couple of exceptions meant to play well with voters. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:07:44 +0000 Amanda Vinicky & Mike Moen 49902 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Makes Minor Changes To State Budget Quinn Signs Minimum Wage Ballot Question http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-signs-minimum-wage-ballot-question <p></p><p>Voters will get to weigh in on whether Illinois should raise its minimum wage for adults to $10 an hour. Governor Pat Quinn approved the ballot question Sunday. And he wasted no time campaigning on the issue. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 15:07:02 +0000 Brian Mackey 49507 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Signs Minimum Wage Ballot Question Illinois' Jobs Outlook Has A Lot Of Moving Parts http://northernpublicradio.org/post/illinois-jobs-outlook-has-lot-moving-parts <p>Making sense of Illinois’ jobs outlook isn’t exactly easy these days. So says an economist from Northern Illinois University. There’s information that says the state still lags behind the national economic recovery. But there are also occasional nuggets of good news to consider. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 12:33:38 +0000 Mike Moen 42767 at http://northernpublicradio.org Illinois' Jobs Outlook Has A Lot Of Moving Parts Daley Dropping Out Of Race For Governor http://northernpublicradio.org/post/daley-dropping-out-race-governor <p></p><p>Bill Daley has made the surprise decision to end his bid for Illinois governor. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 11:24:36 +0000 Tony Arnold 36235 at http://northernpublicradio.org Daley Dropping Out Of Race For Governor Quinn Signs Medicaid Expansion http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-signs-medicaid-expansion <p></p><p>Governor Pat Quinn has signed a bill expanding the state's Medicaid program. The expansion will cover low-income Illinois adults who don't have children at home. Mon, 22 Jul 2013 17:23:56 +0000 Mike Moen 33362 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Signs Medicaid Expansion UPDATED STORY: Parts Of New Illinois Budget Remain Unsigned http://northernpublicradio.org/post/updated-story-parts-new-illinois-budget-remain-unsigned <p><strong>Update on 7/12/13: Workers at state parks and fairs will get paid after all, according to Brad Hahn, spokesman for the Illinois comptroller. He says the portion of the budget affecting them has been signed by Governor Quinn, so the threat of late paychecks for those workers is over.&nbsp;</strong></p><p></p><p>Tens of thousands of state workers in Illinois are at risk of missing their next paycheck. That's because Governor Pat Quinn hasn't signed a bill that covers certain elements of the new state budget. Fri, 12 Jul 2013 17:57:00 +0000 Mike Moen 32639 at http://northernpublicradio.org UPDATED STORY: Parts Of New Illinois Budget Remain Unsigned Legal Questions Raised After Quinn's Budget Veto http://northernpublicradio.org/post/legal-questions-raised-after-quinns-budget-veto <p>Legal questions surround Governor Pat Quinn's move to suspend pay for Illinois lawmakers. On Wednesday, he vetoed that portion of the state budget. Thu, 11 Jul 2013 11:26:58 +0000 WNIJ news 32773 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Takes Action To Suspend Pay For Lawmakers http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-takes-action-suspend-pay-lawmakers <p>Governor Pat Quinn is using his veto power to try to suspend state lawmakers' pay because of their inaction on Illinois' pension crisis.&nbsp; Wed, 10 Jul 2013 15:58:21 +0000 Mike Moen 32717 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Takes Action To Suspend Pay For Lawmakers Pension Deadline Passes Without Resolution http://northernpublicradio.org/post/pension-deadline-passes-without-resolution <p></p><p></p><p>Governor Pat Quinn had harsh criticism for a bipartisan panel of legislators assigned to draft a new plan to reduce the state's pension costs. He wanted legislation passed Tuesday. Lawmakers say they're close, but still need more time. Wed, 10 Jul 2013 12:16:54 +0000 Mike Moen 32705 at http://northernpublicradio.org Pension Deadline Passes Without Resolution