Area Airports Win IDOT Awards

May 20, 2013

Credit IDOT

The Illinois Department of Transportation's Division of Aeronautics  has recognized several northern Illinois airports for their accomplishments throughout the year, including, according to IDOT, "an outstanding partnership with the state of Illinois and their commitment to customer satisfaction."

Area winners of the "2013 Airport of the Year" include:

Chicago Rockford International Airport (Rockford, IL) – “Primary Airport of the Year” for Airports with annual enplanements of 10,000 or more passengers.
DeKalb Taylor Municipal Airport (DeKalb, IL) – “General Aviation – Category ‘A’ Airport of the Year” which accommodate aircraft needing more than 6,000 feet of runway length.
Illinois Valley Regional Airport (Peru, IL) – “General Aviation – Category ‘B’ Airport of the Year” serving aircraft requiring 6,000 or less feet of runway.
• The Flight Deck Bar and Grill (located at the Rochelle Municipal Airport) – “Five Prop On- Airport Restaurant of the Year” for fine dining on the airport.

Facilities in Wheeling, Watson, Mt. Vernon and Springfield, Illinois also received awards.

Each year, representatives of IDOT's Division of Aeronautics convene to determine which airports should receive special recognition as “Airport of the Year.” The criteria for the award selections are based on cooperation and coordination with the Division of Aeronautics by airport management and their staff, the facility safety record, promotion of seminars and aviation events and maintenance of the facility.