Illinois lawmakers are moving ahead with legislation toughening penalties for texting and driving.
If passed, the bill would allow law enforcement to issue a moving violation on a first offense. That carries a fine of $75 dollars for the first violation. Current law only allows a ticket to be issued on the second or subsequent stops.
State Rep. John D’Amico, D-Chicago, also sponsored the original ban on texting and driving four years ago. He says everyone knows now that texting and driving is illegal.
“They don’t need to have a warning on their first stop," he said. "They can get a ticket. Bottom line is, we want to try to continue to make the roads in Illinois as safe as possible.”
The second offense would cost drivers $100, and the amount goes up after that. If a driver receives three moving violations, their license could be suspended.
The measure heads to the House floor for consideration.