Local Fire Departments Receive Money for Equipment

Apr 17, 2013

Credit Amboy Fire Protection District

Nearly 100 fire departments across Illinois will get a boost with new equipment, protective gear or other tools. The money comes through small equipment grants and funded through a percentage of fire insurance sold in the state. Those selected to receive funds include fire departments in DeKalb, Kirkland, and Sycamore.

The Fire Marshal’s office received 271 applications requesting a total of $5,581,522 in grant money during this application period. A news release says that's almost three times the amount of grant funding available this year.

DeKalb County:
DeKalb Fire Department
Kirkland Community Fire District
Sycamore Fire Department
LaSalle County:
Cedar Point Fire Department
Lostant Fire Protection District
Leonore Volunteer Fire Department
Lee County:
Amboy Fire Protection District
City of Dixon Fire Department
Harmon Fire Department
Sublette Fire Protection District
Ogle County:
Mt. Morris Fire Protection District
Stephenson County:
Lena Fire Protection District