More Time To Apply For Flood Relief

Jul 3, 2013

Illinois River
Credit WNIJ File Photo

The deadline to apply for federal flood disaster aid for people affected by April flooding has been extended to July 24.  The original registration deadline was July 9. According to a release from the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, the state’s appeal of the federal government’s denial of aid to people in Putnam and Warren counties was also approved, bringing the total number of counties eligible for individual assistance to 35.

More than 49,300 applications for disaster aid have been approved with more than $122.4 million in grants awarded to people with flood-related  expenses.  The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved $25.4 million in disaster assistance loans.

In addition to Putnam and Warren, other counties approved for federal disaster aid include:

Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Henry, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Peoria, Pike, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.