WNIJ and WNIU http://northernpublicradio.org en Germany And Argentina Face Off In World Cup Final http://northernpublicradio.org/post/germany-and-argentina-face-world-cup-final The World Cup final takes place on Sunday in Brazil. NPR's Kelly McEvers speaks with Russell Lewis in Rio de Janeiro about the match, which went into extra time with a score of 0-0. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 22:22:00 +0000 editor 50572 at http://northernpublicradio.org Palestinians With Foreign Passports Leave Gaza As Attacks Continue http://northernpublicradio.org/post/palestinians-foreign-passports-leave-gaza-attacks-continue The conflict between Israel and Hamas continued, with intensifying Israeli air strikes against in Gaza and Hamas rocket fire aimed at Israel. More than 160 people have been killed so far. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 22:22:00 +0000 Daniel Estrin 50571 at http://northernpublicradio.org Kurdish Authorities Plan Referendum On Independence From Iraq http://northernpublicradio.org/post/kurdish-authorities-plan-referendum-independence-iraq NPR's Kelly McEvers talks to Middle East correspondent Leila Fadel about the rift between Iraqi Kurds and Iraq's central government in Baghdad. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 50570 at http://northernpublicradio.org The Best Movies Of The Year — From 20 Years Ago http://northernpublicradio.org/post/best-movies-year-20-years-ago From Forrest Gump, to Pulp Fiction, to the Lion King, to Quiz Show, 1994 was a momentous year in film, according to a series from the website Grantland. NPR's Kelly McEvers talks with Grantland's Wesley Morris about that year's movies and why they're worth remembering. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 50569 at http://northernpublicradio.org Lorin Maazel, World-Renowned American Composer, Dies At 84 http://northernpublicradio.org/post/lorin-maazel-world-renowned-american-composer-dies-84 Maazel was born in 1930 in Paris, and was a child prodigy. By the time he was a teenager, he had conducted most of the major American orchestras. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 editor 50568 at http://northernpublicradio.org Princess Of 'Fresh Prince' Brings History To Children http://northernpublicradio.org/post/princess-fresh-prince-brings-history-children Hey, remember Hilary Banks from <em>Fresh Prince of Bel-Air</em>?<p>She's back, but in a different light. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 21:12:00 +0000 NPR Staff 50567 at http://northernpublicradio.org Princess Of 'Fresh Prince' Brings History To Children Pope Reportedly Says That 1 In 50 Clergy Are Pedophiles http://northernpublicradio.org/post/pope-reportedly-says-1-50-clergy-are-pedophiles Calling the church sex abuse scandal a "leprosy in our house," Pope Francis tells an Italian newspaper that 1 in 50 Catholic clerics are pedophiles.<p>In an interview with Eugenio Scalfari<em>, </em>the 90-year-old founder of<em> <em>La Repubblica</em></em>, Francis is quoted as saying that advisers in the Church "reassure me" that the problem amounts to "about 2 percent."<p>"This data should hearten me but I have to tell you that it does not hearten me at all. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 50566 at http://northernpublicradio.org Pope Reportedly Says That 1 In 50 Clergy Are Pedophiles Germany Wins World Cup Over Argentina With Late-Game Goal http://northernpublicradio.org/post/world-cup-final-germany-versus-argentina In a tense match that saw a lot of action but no score for more than 90 minutes of play, Germany was finally victorious over Argentina to take home the 2014 World Cup title on Sunday with a 1-0 win.<p>In a game that at times seemed more like a rugby match or WWE bout — with head injuries, flying knees and even an eye rake — both teams displayed hardy defenses and a hungry offense.<p>Two early opportunities from Argentina's Gonzalo Higuain failed to put them on scoreboard. One sailed wide, but the other found the back of the net only for Higuain to be called offsides. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 18:43:00 +0000 editor 50565 at http://northernpublicradio.org Germany Wins World Cup Over Argentina With Late-Game Goal WATCH: Russian Beachgoers Caught In Surprise Hailstorm http://northernpublicradio.org/post/watch-russian-beachgoers-caught-surprise-hailstorm Bathers at a beach in Novosibirsk, central Russia, went from a stifling 105F to 71F in a matter of seconds as a cold front swept over them, dropping what is described as golf-ball sized hail.<p>The freak storm was captured on video (above).<p><a href="http://www.telegraph.co.uk/topics/weather/10964493/Freak-hail-storm-hits-beach-goers.html"><em>The Telegraph</em> says:</a><p><blockquote><p>"Some people can be seen screaming and running for the cover of beach umbrellas as the hail storm intensifies, while some chose to stay in the water and one brave person sheltered under their beach towel.<p> Sun, 13 Jul 2014 18:16:00 +0000 Scott Neuman 50563 at http://northernpublicradio.org WATCH: Russian Beachgoers Caught In Surprise Hailstorm Palestinians Seek Shelter At Supply-Strapped U.N. Schools http://northernpublicradio.org/post/palestinians-seek-shelter-supply-strapped-un-schools Residents in Northern Gaza have been fleeing their homes in <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/13/331122214/palestinians-flee-gaza-after-israel-drops-warning-leaflets">anticipation of a new Israeli assault</a>, as the exchange of Hamas rockets and Israeli airstrikes enters its sixth day. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 18:14:00 +0000 Emily Harris 50564 at http://northernpublicradio.org Palestinians Seek Shelter At Supply-Strapped U.N. Schools