Mike Moen http://northernpublicradio.org en Kinzinger And Bustos Discuss Plane Crash Probe http://northernpublicradio.org/post/kinzinger-and-bustos-discuss-plane-crash-probe <p>A northern Illinois Congressman wants the international community to freeze the assets of Russian President Vladimir Putin. Those comments come from 16th District Republican Adam Kinzinger. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 11:30:31 +0000 Mike Moen 51149 at http://northernpublicradio.org Kinzinger And Bustos Discuss Plane Crash Probe Northern Illinois Counties Get Power To Remove Political Appointments http://northernpublicradio.org/post/northern-illinois-counties-get-power-remove-political-appointments <p>Current state law doesn't allow county governments to remove an appointed official suspected of an ethics violation. But some northern Illinois counties will soon have that power. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 11:45:56 +0000 Mike Moen 51011 at http://northernpublicradio.org Northern Illinois Counties Get Power To Remove Political Appointments String Of Drownings Prompts State To Issue Water Safety Reminder http://northernpublicradio.org/post/string-drownings-prompts-state-issue-water-safety-reminder <p></p><p>Illinois officials want parents to be more vigilant when young children are playing near the water. The reminder follows a string of drownings in recent weeks. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 11:24:00 +0000 Mike Moen 50775 at http://northernpublicradio.org String Of Drownings Prompts State To Issue Water Safety Reminder Quinn Renews Call For Tighter Gun Laws http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-renews-call-tighter-gun-laws <p></p><p>Illinois lawmakers are being asked to revisit a bill that would impose tighter gun restrictions. On Sunday, Governor Pat Quinn again called for passage of a measure that would ban the sale or delivery of assault weapons and high capacity ammunition. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 11:27:05 +0000 Mike Moen 50584 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Renews Call For Tighter Gun Laws Rural Poverty Highlighted In New Report http://northernpublicradio.org/post/rural-poverty-highlighted-new-report <p></p><p>Poverty is prevalent in rural areas across the U.S. That’s according to a published report, which says it’s not just an urban issue. Some northern Illinois ranked near the middle, while others fared better in the rankings. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 11:21:20 +0000 Mike Moen 50050 at http://northernpublicradio.org Rural Poverty Highlighted In New Report Hive Talkin': Sticking With Beekeeping As A Hobby http://northernpublicradio.org/post/hive-talkin-sticking-beekeeping-hobby <p> Beekeeping is enjoying a nice comeback in many U.S. states, including Illinois. Renewed interest in the hobby is linked to concerns over declining bee populations. Enthusiasts also say curiosity tends to reel people in.</p><p>No matter the case, those with experience say that, while beekeeping is rewarding, it’s not an activity you can just buzz into. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 12:20:32 +0000 Mike Moen 49879 at http://northernpublicradio.org Hive Talkin': Sticking With Beekeeping As A Hobby Could Rfd Police Court Fight Pave The Way For Similar Complaints? http://northernpublicradio.org/post/could-rfd-police-court-fight-pave-way-similar-complaints <p></p><p>In Rockford, a legal fight is brewing between the police chief and union leaders. A legal expert says the case could have implications on how management disputes in other departments are handled. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 11:04:23 +0000 Mike Moen 49769 at http://northernpublicradio.org Could Rfd Police Court Fight Pave The Way For Similar Complaints? DeKalb County Embracing Collective Impact Movement http://northernpublicradio.org/post/dekalb-county-embracing-collective-impact-movement <p></p><p>Collective impact is becoming a popular way for communities to address social issues. Instead of working in isolation, various organizations come together to identify key challenges for their residents. The process is now taking shape in DeKalb County. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 11:24:24 +0000 Mike Moen 49504 at http://northernpublicradio.org DeKalb County Embracing Collective Impact Movement Mixed News For Illinois' Jobs Picture http://northernpublicradio.org/post/mixed-news-illinois-jobs-picture <p></p><p>Illinois' jobless rate is now at 7.5 percent. It's the third consecutive monthly decrease. And it's at its lowest level since 2008. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:14:05 +0000 Mike Moen 49389 at http://northernpublicradio.org Mixed News For Illinois' Jobs Picture 500 Jobs Being Cut In McHenry County http://northernpublicradio.org/post/500-jobs-being-cut-mchenry-county <p></p><p>About 500 workers in northern Illinois will lose their jobs later this year. That's when printing company Quad-Graphics will close its operations in Woodstock. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 11:21:42 +0000 Mike Moen 49322 at http://northernpublicradio.org 500 Jobs Being Cut In McHenry County