Don Grady http://northernpublicradio.org en Grady Files Lawsuit Against University Leaders http://northernpublicradio.org/post/grady-files-lawsuit-against-university-leaders <p>Former Northern Illinois University Police Chief Don Grady has filed a federal civil rights lawsuit against the university's board of trustees. It comes a year after his firing. The Daily Chronicle reports the suit wants Grady to be reinstated with back pay and receive a public apology.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p><a href="http://www.daily-chronicle.com/2014/02/20/grady-files-civil-rights-lawsuit-against-niu/am0nn8c/" target="_blank">The Daily Chronicle: Grady Files Civil Rights Lawsuit Against NIU</a></p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 12:08:32 +0000 WNIJ 43462 at http://northernpublicradio.org Grady Files Lawsuit Against University Leaders Former NIU Police Chief Still Challenging Firing http://northernpublicradio.org/post/former-niu-police-chief-still-challenging-firing <p>Don Grady is still fighting his dismissal as NIU's police chief. Earlier this year, <a href="http://northernpublicradio.org/post/grady-out-niu-police-chief">the university fired Grady </a>amid a department scandal. Top officials were accused of mishandling evidence in a rape case against a former officer. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 11:33:42 +0000 Mike Moen 36182 at http://northernpublicradio.org Former NIU Police Chief Still Challenging Firing Phillips Named New NIU Police Chief http://northernpublicradio.org/post/phillips-named-new-niu-police-chief <p>There have been several new faces around campus this year, including a new president, athletic director, and now police chief.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 15:32:20 +0000 Jenna Dooley 35269 at http://northernpublicradio.org Phillips Named New NIU Police Chief NIU Pays Out 200K In Paid Leave Costs http://northernpublicradio.org/post/niu-pays-out-200k-paid-leave-costs <p>Police Chief Don Grady continued to draw a salary after he was placed on leave in November.&nbsp; His salary at the time was around $205,987.92. Grady and another officer were accused of withholding evidence in a sexual assault case. The charges for that case were initially dropped, <a href="http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2013-02-22/news/chi-former-niu-cop-reindicted-on-rape-charges-20130222_1_andrew-rifkin-sexual-assault-niu-student" target="_blank">but have been re-filed.</a></p><p></p><p> Thu, 28 Feb 2013 11:28:56 +0000 Jenna Dooley 26149 at http://northernpublicradio.org NIU Pays Out 200K In Paid Leave Costs Grady Lawyer Calls NIU Review Of Former Police Chief A Sham http://northernpublicradio.org/post/grady-lawyer-calls-niu-review-former-police-chief-sham <p></p><p>The lawyer representing former NIU police chief Don Grady calls the decision to fire his client "unjust action." This week, the university dismissed Grady on the heels of misconduct allegations within the campus police department.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 14:33:28 +0000 Mike Moen 25799 at http://northernpublicradio.org Grady Lawyer Calls NIU Review Of Former Police Chief A Sham Former Officer Sues NIU Board and Grady http://northernpublicradio.org/post/former-officer-sues-niu-board-and-grady <p>A former campus police officer is suing the NIU Board of Trustees and Police Chief Don Grady. Andrew Rifkin filed the lawsuit Jan. 22 in DeKalb County. Rifkin was charged in 2011 with sexually assaulting a student. Those charges were later dropped.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 11:15:38 +0000 Jenna Dooley 24403 at http://northernpublicradio.org Former Officer Sues NIU Board and Grady