Wedron http://northernpublicradio.org en New Tests Show Mixed Results For Small Town Dealing With Toxic Water http://northernpublicradio.org/post/new-tests-show-mixed-results-small-town-dealing-toxic-water <p></p><p>Federal officials say residents in a small northern Illinois town affected by contaminated groundwater are safe from the problem. But for how long? Tue, 13 May 2014 10:34:37 +0000 Mike Moen 47413 at http://northernpublicradio.org New Tests Show Mixed Results For Small Town Dealing With Toxic Water EPA Probe In Wedron Winding Down http://northernpublicradio.org/post/epa-probe-wedron-winding-down <p></p><p>Federal EPA officials say they're close to wrapping up their investigation into a toxic-water case in a small northern Illinois town. The agency says the brutal winter hampered their probe into contaminated groundwater in Wedron.&nbsp; Thu, 24 Apr 2014 10:36:34 +0000 Mike Moen 46493 at http://northernpublicradio.org EPA Probe In Wedron Winding Down Lawsuit Filed In Response To Wedron Groundwater Case http://northernpublicradio.org/post/lawsuit-filed-response-wedron-groundwater-case <p></p><p>A lawsuit has been filed in connection with a toxic water investigation in northern Illinois. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 11:35:59 +0000 Mike Moen 42160 at http://northernpublicradio.org Lawsuit Filed In Response To Wedron Groundwater Case EPA Continues Work In Wedron http://northernpublicradio.org/post/epa-continues-work-wedron <p></p><p>This week, the <a href="http://www.epa.gov/region5/cleanup/wedron/">U.S. EPA updated residents </a>in the unincorporated town of Wedron about its next step to protect them from contaminated groundwater. Several private wells in this LaSalle County community have tested positive for elevated levels of benzene. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 10:34:32 +0000 Mike Moen 36359 at http://northernpublicradio.org EPA Continues Work In Wedron Wedron Residents Could Get New Water Supply http://northernpublicradio.org/post/wedron-residents-could-get-new-water-supply <p></p><p>In the coming months, there could be a new water source for residents in a tiny northern Illinois town dealing with contamination issues. Mon, 10 Jun 2013 11:57:17 +0000 Mike Moen 31221 at http://northernpublicradio.org Wedron Residents Could Get New Water Supply Small Town Consumed By Toxic Water Mess http://northernpublicradio.org/post/small-town-consumed-toxic-water-mess <p></p><p>For several weeks, WNIJ has been following the probe into groundwater contamination in the small town of Wedron. In our latest report, we learn about the long road ahead for this LaSalle County community as it tries to eliminate a problem that has consumed the area in many ways. Mon, 29 Apr 2013 11:35:08 +0000 Mike Moen 29068 at http://northernpublicradio.org Small Town Consumed By Toxic Water Mess EPA Will Continue To Monitor Wedron Water http://northernpublicradio.org/post/epa-will-continue-monitor-wedron-water <p>The federal EPA says its most recent testing of <a href="http://www.epa.gov/region5/cleanup/wedron/">contaminated groundwater in Wedron</a> has turned up no additional cases. Eight private wells in the LaSalle County town are said to have elevated levels of benzene.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 05 Apr 2013 09:23:02 +0000 Mike Moen 27898 at http://northernpublicradio.org EPA Will Continue To Monitor Wedron Water EPA Meets With Businesses Linked To Wedron Case http://northernpublicradio.org/post/epa-meets-businesses-linked-wedron-case <p></p><p>EPA officials are talking to businesses suspected of being the responsible for contaminated groundwater in a LaSalle County community. A meeting was held this week to discuss some of the initial findings from a U.S. EPA investigation. Officials have found high levels of benzene in a number of private wells in the town of Wedron. Wed, 20 Mar 2013 11:00:46 +0000 Mike Moen 27134 at http://northernpublicradio.org EPA Meets With Businesses Linked To Wedron Case Small Town Attracts Big Name To Help With Toxic Water Mess http://northernpublicradio.org/post/small-town-attracts-big-name-help-toxic-water-mess <p></p><p>Concerns are growing over contaminated groundwater in a small northern Illinois community. Residents in <a href="http://illinois.hometownlocator.com/il/lasalle/wedron.cfm">Wedron</a> report a strong gas odor coming from their spigots. Frustrated over the government’s response, they’ve asked a famed activist to help get some answers. Thu, 14 Mar 2013 11:34:25 +0000 Mike Moen 26848 at http://northernpublicradio.org Small Town Attracts Big Name To Help With Toxic Water Mess