Education http://northernpublicradio.org en Who Benefits When The School Funding Formula Is Re-Crunched? http://northernpublicradio.org/post/who-benefits-when-school-funding-formula-re-crunched <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">School superintendents in Illinois are getting a chance to weigh in on what could be a huge change in the state’s public school funding formula.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 11:23:03 +0000 Susan Stephens 46025 at http://northernpublicradio.org Who Benefits When The School Funding Formula Is Re-Crunched? New President For Rock Valley College http://northernpublicradio.org/post/new-president-rock-valley-college <p>After a national search, Rock Valley College has gone in-house for its new president.&nbsp;&nbsp;The <a href="http://www.rockvalleycollege.edu/About/PresidentialSearch/">College's Board of Trustees today announced</a> it has selected Michael Mastroianni as RVC's sixth president. &nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 22:49:48 +0000 Guy Stephens 45715 at http://northernpublicradio.org New President For Rock Valley College Rockford Education Leaders Talk About Common Core http://northernpublicradio.org/post/rockford-education-leaders-talk-about-common-core <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">School districts are pressing ahead with implementing Common Core education standards. They’re required to start using federal standardized tests next year.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 14:47:18 +0000 Susan Stephens 43892 at http://northernpublicradio.org Rockford Education Leaders Talk About Common Core Past As Prologue: Chinese Students At NIU http://northernpublicradio.org/post/past-prologue-chinese-students-niu <p></p><p></p><p><a href="http://www.niu.edu/index.shtml">Northern Illinois University</a>’s President Doug Baker has called for increasing the school’s ties with Chinese institutions. That would include having more students from China on the DeKalb campus.&nbsp; In one school within the university, a number are already here -- and have been for a long time.</p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 12:10:00 +0000 Guy Stephens 41775 at http://northernpublicradio.org Past As Prologue: Chinese Students At NIU Landfill Leak Sends Dozens Of Cortland Students To Hospital http://northernpublicradio.org/post/landfill-leak-sends-dozens-cortland-students-hospital <p>67 Cortland Elementary School students and staff members were admitted to Kishwaukee Hospital's emergency room today after complaining of nausea: they were sickened by a strong smell from the nearby Waste Management landfill.</p><p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 22:23:32 +0000 Susan Stephens 41771 at http://northernpublicradio.org Landfill Leak Sends Dozens Of Cortland Students To Hospital The Inauguration of NIU's 12th President http://northernpublicradio.org/post/inauguration-nius-12th-president <p>Wednesday was a day for celebrations at Northern Illinois University…even before the undefeated Huskies crushed Ball State, 48 to 27. It was Inauguration Day for NIU president Doug Baker, and student achievement was the focus.</p><p> Thu, 14 Nov 2013 09:18:53 +0000 Susan Stephens 39037 at http://northernpublicradio.org The Inauguration of NIU's 12th President Former NIU President "Enthusiastic" About School's New Leader http://northernpublicradio.org/post/former-niu-president-enthusiastic-about-schools-new-leader <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">An important figure in Northern Illinois University’s history is back on campus today to celebrate the school’s future. </span>NIU’s<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> tenth president John </span>La Tourette<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> will attend the inauguration of the </span>12<sup>th</sup><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> president, Doug Baker.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 08:54:13 +0000 Susan Stephens 38969 at http://northernpublicradio.org Former NIU President "Enthusiastic" About School's New Leader Inauguration Week At NIU http://northernpublicradio.org/post/inauguration-week-niu <div>It’s inauguration week at Northern Illinois University. Doug Baker will be welcomed as NIU’s 12th president in ceremonies throughout the week…even though he’s held the position for more than four months now.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 06:25:57 +0000 Susan Stephens 38855 at http://northernpublicradio.org Inauguration Week At NIU Community Leaders: The Changing Role of School Superintendents http://northernpublicradio.org/post/community-leaders-changing-role-school-superintendents <p>The role of a school superintendent has changed a lot recently: four local district leaders proved that Thursday night during the Northern Illinois University Education Department’s Superintendents Summit.</p><p> Fri, 25 Oct 2013 07:16:47 +0000 Susan Stephens 38097 at http://northernpublicradio.org Community Leaders: The Changing Role of School Superintendents Belts Getting Tighter For Illinois Schools http://northernpublicradio.org/post/belts-getting-tighter-illinois-schools <p></p><p>The Illinois State Board of Education is warning school districts to prepare to make due with less next fiscal year.</p><p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 21:26:27 +0000 Susan Stephens 37808 at http://northernpublicradio.org Belts Getting Tighter For Illinois Schools