News http://northernpublicradio.org en Quinn Orders State Officials To Bar PCB's From Landfill http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-orders-state-officials-bar-pcbs-landfill <p>Illinois Governor Pat Quinn is moving to stop an Illinois landfill from taking in toxic PCB’s. The governor ordered the state Environmental Protection Agency to rewrite the Clinton Landfill’s permit to block PCB’s.</p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 10:57:21 +0000 Jim Meadows 51383 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Orders State Officials To Bar PCB's From Landfill NIU Faculty Lending Expertise To Myanmar Universities http://northernpublicradio.org/post/niu-faculty-lending-expertise-myanmar-universities <p></p><p>Northern Illinois University is ramping up for efforts to help rebuild the university system in Myanmar, also known as Burma. Schools there are trying to recover from decades of oppression. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 11:11:25 +0000 Mike Moen 51330 at http://northernpublicradio.org NIU Faculty Lending Expertise To Myanmar Universities Unions Hint Lawmakers Missed Chance To Negotiate Pensions http://northernpublicradio.org/post/unions-hint-lawmakers-missed-chance-negotiate-pensions <p>Legislators passed a law overhauling the state's retirement systems. Soaring pension debt remains a concern. The law's constitutionality is also in question. It reduces workers' and retirees' benefits, and raises the retirement age.</p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 11:09:09 +0000 Amanda Vinicky 51331 at http://northernpublicradio.org Unions Hint Lawmakers Missed Chance To Negotiate Pensions Rockford Symphony Names New Conductor For Youth Orchestra http://northernpublicradio.org/post/rockford-symphony-names-new-conductor-youth-orchestra <p></p><p>The <a href="http://rockfordsymphony.com/">Rockford Symphony Orchestra</a> (RSO) has chosen Linc Smelser to be the next conductor of the Rockford Symphony Youth Orchestra (RSYO). The RSO announced the selection Friday.</p><p>In the announcement, RSO Music Director Steven Larsen said he was delighted to have Smelser as the RSYO's new conductor.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 19:59:21 +0000 Guy Stephens 51241 at http://northernpublicradio.org Rockford Symphony Names New Conductor For Youth Orchestra Full Speed Ahead For DeKalb Library Expansion http://northernpublicradio.org/post/full-speed-ahead-dekalb-library-expansion <p>Saturday's groundbreaking for a $24 million dollar library expansion can't come soon enough for Dee Coover. The library director walked into her office this week to sweltering temperatures. She called to get the problem fixed and heard a familiar refrain from workers.</p><p>"It's been remodeled several times so everything is in the way of what I am trying to work on. It's just that everything is old...antiquated," said service technician Chad Phund.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 18:00:00 +0000 Jenna Dooley 51212 at http://northernpublicradio.org Full Speed Ahead For DeKalb Library Expansion Tell Your Summer Story, Take A Walk In The Park http://northernpublicradio.org/post/tell-your-summer-story-take-walk-park <p>Here we are, knee-deep in summer, with vacation on the mind this weekend.</p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 17:46:08 +0000 Susan Stephens 51229 at http://northernpublicradio.org Tell Your Summer Story, Take A Walk In The Park Quinn Renews Call For Assault Weapons Ban http://northernpublicradio.org/post/quinn-renews-call-assault-weapons-ban-0 <p>Illinois Governor Pat Quinn is bringing the debate over guns into his re-election campaign.</p><p>Quinn says the issue of military-style weapons represents a fundamental difference between his policies and and Republican candidate Bruce Rauner.</p><p>"<span style="line-height: 1.5;">My opponent thinks people should have assault weapons as they see fit. Do folks here agree with that? Do you agree with that?"</span></p><p>Quinn was speaking at a church on Chicago’s West Side to support a ban on high-capacity guns.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 12:09:57 +0000 Patrick Smith 51220 at http://northernpublicradio.org Quinn Renews Call For Assault Weapons Ban Jobless Rate Drops Again In Rockford http://northernpublicradio.org/post/jobless-rate-drops-again-rockford <p>The jobless rate in all of Illinois' metro areas <a href="http://www.ides.illinois.gov/SitePages/NewsArticleDisplay.aspx?NewsID=225" target="_blank">dropped again</a> last month. State officials Rockford's rate was 1.5 percent lower than the year before.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 12:04:52 +0000 WNIJ 51219 at http://northernpublicradio.org Jobless Rate Drops Again In Rockford Kinzinger And Bustos Discuss Plane Crash Probe http://northernpublicradio.org/post/kinzinger-and-bustos-discuss-plane-crash-probe <p>A northern Illinois Congressman wants the international community to freeze the assets of Russian President Vladimir Putin. Those comments come from 16th District Republican Adam Kinzinger. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 11:30:31 +0000 Mike Moen 51149 at http://northernpublicradio.org Kinzinger And Bustos Discuss Plane Crash Probe Police Arrest Man In String Of Burglaries http://northernpublicradio.org/post/police-arrest-man-string-burglaries <p>Rockford police <a href="https://local.nixle.com/alert/5238541/?sub_id=361187" target="_blank">made an arrest </a>after a series of recent home burglaries. They happened along Grant, Sherman and Sheridan avenues over the last few days. The 25-year-old suspect was also wanted in connection with retail theft.</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 10:39:32 +0000 WNIJ 51144 at http://northernpublicradio.org