WNIJ news – Election day in Illinois brought some key victories for Republicans, along with a top race still undecided. In the race for governor, incumbent Democrat, Pat Quinn, was leading Republican challenger, Bill Brady, by less than half a percentage point. That's with 99-percent of precincts reporting. Quinn was predicting victory, while acknowledging there were more votes to count. Brady wasn't ready to concede, saying the race won't be decided until later today at the earliest.

Meanwhile, Republicans have wrestled away President Obama's former seat in the U.S. Senate. Congressman, Mark Kirk, narrowly defeated Democratic State Treasurer, Alexi Giannoulias, for the seat.

In the bitter fight for Illinois' 14th Congressional District, incumbent Democrat, Bill Foster, lost to Republican state Senator, Randy Hultgren. In the 16th District, Republican, Don Manzullo, won re-election. In other congressional races in northern Illinois, incumbent Democrats lost in the 11th and 17th districts. As for the 8th district, Democrat, Melissa Bean, was still locked in a tight race to retain her seat. Turning to the General Assembly, Republican, Joe Sosnowski, was elected state representative for the 69th district, which covers most of Boone County. Also, Rockford Republican, Dave Syverson, won re-election for his seat in the state Senate. Looking at the General Assembly as a whole, Democrats will retain control of both chambers. But, they appear to have lost their super-majority in the Senate. As for ballot questions, voters have approved a bond issue for Kishwaukee College, which is looking to make upgrades to its campus. In Winnebago County Races, Sheriff Richard Meyers won re-election, taking 56 percent of the vote against Aaron Booker. Margie Mullins won re-election to the County Clerk's office. In County Board Races, Republicans ran the table: Lynne Strathman, Gary Jury, Kevin Horstman, John Cabello, Ted Biondo, John Ekberg and John Guevara all won. Turning to Referenda, Machesney Park residents decided keep the right to burn leaves within city limits. The Village of Winnebago overwhelmingly rejected a proposal to increase the property tax rate. Voters in Poplar Grove defeated a new tax levy for police. In DeKalb County races, Republican, Clay Campbell, will be the next State's Attorney. He beat Democrat, Sarah Gallagher Chami. Republican John Acardo won the race for County Clerk and Recorder. Republicans now have the majority on the County Board, with 13 members. Democrats have 11 members. In Kane County, Democratic Sheriff, Pat Perez, secured another four years as the County's top cop.