Rockford School District Considers Closing At Least Seven Elementaries

May 2, 2014

The Rockford School District is looking at closing seven to nine elementary schools. The district currently has 35. 

White Swan Elementary School, one of at least seven schools that could close under plans by the Rockford School District.
Credit Rockford Public Schools /

The proposed closings are part of a master plan to improve facilities, and the district will present three different scenarios to the public at a series of meetings that start Monday. Plans could also include building one or two new schools.

Schools that could be closed are Cherry Valley, Dennis, King, Kishwaukee, Nelson, Thompson, Walker, West View, and White Swan. The school board is expected to decide between three facilities plans at its June 24th meeting.